Techie students as teachers

When stumped with how some technology gadget works to whom do adults usually turn? The younger generation, of course! Why? Because today’s kids have been brought up surrounded by technology. Their natural curiosity is an asset to learning quickly.
This semester I decided to use that to my advantage in my technology course with the 12th grade students. I had them prepare presentations on the use of online technology. They then presented the information to their current teachers. The topics ranged from using Google Drive to organizing e-mails. Reactions? Students felt they had made a significant contribution to their teachers’ learning in the area of technology. The teachers were impressed!
What does this show? That teachers do not always have to be in charge of learning. Students can be in the driver’s seat for a change! Teachers should learn to let go sometimes and let students show off what they have learned.
Those of us who have been in this field for quite a while know that learning can go both ways. In my case, I’ve learned just as much from my students as they have from me! It’s an exhilarating feeling and one that never ceases to amaze me. ~~LMM

Leave a Reply

