So many apps! Which ones to choose?

Education Apps

As an English teacher and technology coordinator, I’m often overwhelmed by the amount of apps out there that can be used in the classroom. The teaching staff come to me from time to time to ask me which apps are suitable for their needs. Students come to tell me which apps they use and work for them. I’m continually on the lookout for those apps that meet these requirements: (1) simple to use; (2) enjoyable; (3) useful and (4) lasting. Number 4 is important because once you become familiar with an app and use it frequently you want it to be around for a while. This is not often the case and usually leads to frustration.

Which apps do I recommend for an educator? Based on a variety of opinions and what I’ve tested so far, I’ve come to some interesting conclusions.

Here’s a list of my favorites so far:

EduBlogs (been using this WordPress platform for the past 7 years).

Wikispaces is excellent for collaborative learning.

Pinterest has lots of cool stuff for teachers. I use it for organizing and decorating my classroom, as well as for lesson planning

Socrative can be used for creating quizzes and surveys.

Slideshare is excellent for uploading and sharing slideshows.

Google Docs for creating and sharing all types of documents.

YouTube has a channel which focuses on education.

I’ll keep searching for new apps that can be used as a source of learning and test them to see if they’re worthwhile.

Which ones have you tried out and find useful for a teacher and her students? Care to share? Comment below or send an e-mail to lmolina@colegiobeato.org. ~~LMMolina

 

One thought on “So many apps! Which ones to choose?

Leave a Reply

